Pet Peeve #1

November 18, 2011

I have a ton of pet peeves – I think everyone does.  I’ve picked up on a few since I’ve been surfing the ‘net for ideas regarding crock pot meals and budget-cutting.

My biggest pet peeve is looking at recipe reviews.  They absolutely freaking kill me.

For example, I was looking at a blue punch for a baby shower (I followed a link from a forum).  It looked grossly interesting.  And not gross meaning entirely – gross meaning “that’s effing disgusting”.

The original ingredients for the punch:
– Blue punch mix (Kool-Aid)
– Sugar to taste
– 1 L sprite
– White Cranberry Juice
– Vanilla ice cream

A woman rated the punch five stars.  Said it was the most delicious punch she’s ever had.
However, she couldn’t find blue punch mix (used Hawaiian Punch instead), she didn’t have sugar, and she used white grape juice instead of white cranberry juice.

Can you explain to me how this is even REMOTELY the same punch?

I come across this same type of scenario every time I read a recipe.  I just think it’s terrible form – you boost the rating of the recipe and you COMPLETELY switched it up? Bad form.

Leave a comment